top of page

Painful Pants

The hardest part of this costume was the part I thought was going to be the easiest. And really put me on a time crunch! Nothing like racing the clock while you are costuming!

(The easiest part turned out to be reading every review on all the orange wigs ever on Amazon and the wig I got was both the cheapest - yay! - and it came with an extra hair net for easier application -score!)

So these pants...

If you look at LeeLoo's in the movie, they are more of a metallic champagne, not really gold. A lot of other girls I looked at for inspiration had done khaki or gold.

I found a shimmery champagne color legging but the order looked like it was not going to make it in time. Thank the costume gods I hedged my bets and bought a gold pair as a back up that arrived the day after I ordered them. I held out as long as I could for the champagne pair * but with two days before the Con I abandoned hope they would make it. *Update- they never in fact showed. I had to contest it with Amazon and get a refund :-(

Back to the basics-

I love Bias Tape! I've used double folded Bias Tape before in my Han Solo pants too. A lot of versatile use! It just makes a really clean line! (not really tape, really crisply folding cotton)

The problem? My sewing machine kept chocking on the spandex and the strip.

So I had to HAND STITCH allllll of it! I even had to take it up to my office to work on so I could be finished in time!

Laying Out The Grid Work

After all that work, with the tshirt, I looked... I cant think of a word. I experimented and figured out the pants and shirt looked better as a whole with my black booty shorts underneath.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page