top of page

Beetlejuice- Miss Argentina

Miss Argentina

The Undead Receptionist from Beetlejuice

Everyone may love the Ghost With The Most but he's not nearly the bombshell that is Miss Argentina!

Dress, Sash, Wig, Scars, and Body Paint.... Could be simple.... Only the costume gods will tell!

 

Miss Argentina's cape proved to be quite the unexpected challenge! Let's hope it will not be an expensive one!

Her sash and dress put my coupon savvy into good practice!

To get the points of her cape I first made a half flower all connected and twisted together. That didn't really work. Trial and error my friends! So then I made individual petals out of wire. I even had the boyfriend use his soldering iron to join them and make it more of a steady piece. I didn't need it to be pretty since it was going to be covered anyway. I got maroon tule to drape over the petals and gather into a cape. I even got some cheap spray glitter to make it a bit glitter-y!

To get the points of her cape I first made a half flower all connected and twisted together. That didn't really work. Trial and error my friends! So then I made individual petals out of wire. I even had the boyfriend use his soldering iron to join them and make it more of a steady piece. I didn't need it to be pretty since it was going to be covered anyway. I got maroon tule to drape over the petals and gather into a cape. I even got some cheap spray glitter to make it a bit glitter-y!

Man, I don't know how I crafted before coupons! I grabbed wide satin ribbon from Hobby Lobby with their standard 20% off coupon. "Real" pageant like sashes were way too much! I then went to Michaels and got some iron on letters. I didn't want to pay for two sheets so I made the second 'N' out of and "I" and a "V". I got the glitter letter kind, because... well.. why not?! She's a pageant girl after all!

 

I hate that I didn't take a "before" picture of the dress. But it was a basic black dress that someone probably wore to homecoming. Got it at a thrift store $7!

I took it home to dye purple. With scalding hot water, 4 cups of bleach and salt I let the dress soak for 2 entire days since it was mostly made out of rayon which meant it was near impossible to bleach entirely.

I got a tie dyed effect of white and black. Which I guess kind of worked since she's undead, right? Her dress doesn't have to be beautiful!

Since the dress came to my knees I got a pair of green tinted hose to cover my legs instead of painting them.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page