top of page

Devil's in the Details

I looked around my apartment to see what I could use to 'dirty' up my Kaylee costume.

She is a grease monkey, her coveralls would not be clean by far!

I thought I could use some Vanilla for oil stains instead of using smelly cooking or olive oil. I was also afraid the oils would bleed further than I wanted. But alas, the vanilla did not work.

I cut open a pen to see what kind of mess that could make (we've all experienced a busted pen...it's hard to get out of clothing!).

All I can say is thank goodness I did it on the very bottom of the left leg! It wasn't very controlled. But a 'dirty' effect was achieved!

I didn't have any regular plastic bend-y straws but I did have one from a re usable to go cup. It was perfect for sucking up a bit of black acryllic paint and shooting it through for a great spray/spackle look!

My dishscrubber also did a great job of a spray/spackle look with some watered down black acryllic paint! I even used an empty threat spool to make track marks...

I didn't do too many, or a whole of 'dirty-ing'. I just couldn't bring my self to really get crazy past the waist up since I was terrified I would go too far and not be able to fix it.

Especially since there is no 'extra' suit to start over!

 

Since I had spent so much money on this costume already, I cut a corner for the Heart patch. Or rather...I cut up a pillow case I had lying around!

Heart "Patch": Free!

 

I struggled to find Kaylee's blue flower patch. My local craft store wanted $5 and so did the interwebs. So I went to the clearance section and found these felt flower bits on sale! I liked the idea of building my own and adding a little different maroon bit for such a steal! At the last moment I added yellow felt in the middle and used yellow thread to attach to make a 'center'.

 

The Teddy Bear patch I went ahead and spent full price on. It's iconic of the whole Kaylee outfit!

It's even on the Kaylee inspired messenger bags that are selling now.

Iconic Bear Patch: $10

 

And of course, Kaylee's Chinese character!

I believe the Chinese character for "love" is very appropriate for the bubbly loving mechanic!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page