top of page

Han Solo Blaster

"Hokey religions and ancient weapons are no match for a good blaster at your side, kid"- Han Solo

Luckily I could reuse my blaster and holster from my previous RiverSong costume. But to be fair, I'll include their cost in this costume total as well.

In case you missed it:

On Amazon.com I found a kid's western holster in the Halloween costume section. The price was right but the size was wrong!

So I un stitched the part I could move down and re stitched it so it would fall over my hips!

I got a pack of 5 plastic water pistols from Target for a steal.

Using painter's tape and spray paint I created a blaster that didn't weigh me down or cost a lot so if I lost it at a Con, it wouldn't be the end of the world.

I determined which parts I wanted different colors. This required a lot of thinking 'reversely' with my painters tape. As well as a lot of layering of paint!

I also had fun with different spray paints. Chalkboard spray paint gave me a matte gun look and a hammered copper spray gave me cool texturing with a copper color!

Something I've always loved about Star Wars is that things look worn and dirty. I grew up with Star Trek but I feel like space should be dirty! So I added a few nicks and spots for a 'worn' look.

A friend donated a box of miscellaneous gear parts she found in her garage. Armed with some Quick Hold glue, I added a few pieces to make my water pistol a little more 3 dimensional.

Final Result:

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page